Doritos are one of the infamously eaten snack at most of the countries around the world. They are tortilla chips that is manufactured by the Frito-Lay brand from America. The first set of manufactured Doritos were not flavored and were typically made from toasted corn. It was first released in 1966, post which they researched and manufactured the Taco Dorito in 1967 and the Nacho Cheese Dorito in 1972. After this they can with numerable flavor of this snack.
The first manufactured Dorito chips – Toasted Corn – contained ground corn, vegetable oil and some salt. The basic ingredients remain the same for most of the other flavors of the brand. The Doritos products available in the US market do not contain any pork-derived materials in its chips. For different flavors, different ingredients are required like lactic acid, whey, buttermilk solids, monosodium glutamate, cottonseed oil, tomato powder, artificial and natural coloring and many more.
Are Doritos Gluten-Free?
Fortunately, Yes, some flavors of Dorito chips are gluten-free. One flavor is mentioned to be gluten-free by the company. While for some other flavors, the ingredients are gluten-free but might possess the risk of cross contamination. If you have the celiac disease, then you must avoid or have the least amount of the Doritos in your diet. Although most of the flavors are free from wheat, barley and rye, you must have minimal intake of the flavors that have the risk of cross contamination.
Most of the Dorito flavors are gluten-free as they do not contain any gluten in their ingredients but the parent company Frito-Lay has other products in its bouquet that do contain gluten. The production line of both – Doritos and the other food products that contain glute are same. This increases the chance of cross contamination. Cross contamination is when an ingredient of one product line mixes in the ingredients of other product line.
If such thing has happened for your pack of Dorito and you are allergic to it, then you might face some issue like stomach ache or a cramp. Or it may also happen that you might be gluten intolerant but this little amount of gluten doesn’t cause any harm to you. Only 1% of the entire world’s population is gluten intolerant. So, the chances of you having severe issue like that.
According to the parent company Frito-Lay, Doritos Simply Organic White Cheddar flavored chips are completely gluten-free – in terms of ingredients and the production process. It is free from any cross contamination like the other flavors. So, next time you visit Taco Bell for gluten-free foods, you can go for the Dorito snack of this flavor chips.
The other Dorito Chips that have gluten-free ingredients, but has issue with cross contamination are–
- Cheese Explosion Mix Flavored Doritos
- Cool Ranch Flavored Dorito Chips
- Flamas Flavored Dorito Chips
- Spicy Street Taco Flavored Chips
- 3D Bacon Cheddar Ranch Chips
- Dinamita Fiery Habanero Flavored Chips
- Dorito Nacho Cheese Flavored Chips
- 3D Jalapeno Pepper Jack Flavored Chips
- Doritos Salsa Verde Flavored Chips
- Supreme Cheddar Flavored Doritos Chips
- Tapatio Flavored Doritos Chips
These along with some more flavors do not contain any gluten ingredients – but might have had some cross contamination. So, choose wisely as per your body type. You can try out other snacks that are gluten-free at the Cheesecake factory and Smashburger.
All in all, Doritos cannot be completely considered gluten-free as there are severe chances of cross contamination. But we cannot ignore the fact that they might contain a very little amount of gluten and less gluten intolerant people can take a chance to try out this snack. And anyway – there is at least one gluten-free flavor that you can definitely rely on when you wish to much the snack.