Ketchup is a type of condiment that adds flavor to your dish or snack. It is one of the popularly used condiments as it can supplement different foods like French Fries, Burgers, Sandwiches, and many more dishes. You must have used this condiment at least once with some or the other snack. For some, many snacks are incompletely without the addition of this condiment in it.
When we talk about the old style Ketchup, they are all gluten-free as they are made of natural thickeners. Only in the US, more than 15 billion ounce of Ketchup is sold in a year. Isn’t that huge. It is a part of everyone’s kitchen and most of the people have it with numerous dishes and so, store ketchup in bulk quantities.
Is Ketchup Gluten-Free?
Yes, most of the ketchup brands offer gluten-free version of the product. The ingredients used in ketchup are mostly Tomatoes and vinegar. Both of these products used in production of the ketchup are gluten-free. Very few times, brands either use Non Gluten-free vinegar or some other gluten ingredient that makes the ketchup unacceptable to the gluten intolerant people. Let’s look at the different brands that offer gluten-free ketchup
If you have the doubt of Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten-free, then this is the simplest answer to it. Yes, as per the ingredients disclosed in every pack of Heinz ketchup, it is clear that their products are free of gluten containing grains. You will find this ketchup brand in most of the Taco Bell franchises.
Again, when you are confused and want to know ‘Is Hunts Ketchup gluten-free?’, then go tension free as the Hunts company itself states that all their ketchup flavors are completely gluten-free. But they do make use of distilled vinegar which is considered to be derived from gluten grain and so some consider it not to be gluten-free.
3. Del Monte
As per what the brand states, the products of Del Monte are gluten-free and do not contain ingredients like wheat, rye, oats or barley.
4. Annie’s Naturals
This company declares that it tests 20 parts per million bottles of ketchup. They include vinegar that is prepared from corn and not wheat.
This brand also claims that their ketchups are made from distilled vinegar that might be prepared from wheat grains. It is less preferred by high gluten tolerant people as it might be dangerous for them to have.
How Do You Check If the Ketchup is Gluten-Free?
You might be using some other brand of ketchup and would want to check if that brand offers gluten-free products or are not good for gluten intolerant people. You can check that with the following guide.
- First thing that you must look for is whether the product is marked as a gluten-free product or not by its manufacturing company.
- If the marking is not done, then look for the ingredients list. If the ketchup contains distilled white vinegar and no other gluten-containing ingredients then that’s your ketchup
- If in ingredients, it is written apple cider vinegar, rice vinegar, balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar or a vinegar that do not contain gluten ingredients than you can move forward with that ketchup
- If the ketchup ingredients contains white vinegar as an ingredient but doesn’t have distillation noted, then the ketchup is not gluten-free
- Also, malt vinegar is included in the ingredients, then it is not free of gluten
- If the ketchup’s ingredients are not disclosed, then do not go for such ketchup as it might not be free of gluten.
Look for your ketchup, check its ingredients and only then have it. Do not forget to check the ingredients before you purchase the ketchup. You can check our gluten-free scrutiny on Doritos, Ruffles snacks and Orbit gum.